Mental Health Law


Mental health issues in children have reached an increasingly disturbing level in the past decade, and research has uncovered that in Illinois 1 in 10 children now suffer from a mental illness, however only 20% of those actually receive mental health services. There was such a concern regarding this increasing problem in Illinois that a task force was created and ultimately led to the creation of the Children’s Mental Health Act of 2003, a law in Illinois which now mandates school districts to address this problem through curriculum and various support services. In addition to this law, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) also mandates that children who qualify for an Emotional Disability receive an appropriate education by their local school district.

The law office of Whitted Cleary & Takiff represents parents and children of the greater Chicago area, Cook County, Lake County, DuPage County, and other collar counties, and throughout northern Illinois.

WTH understands the emotional impact having a child with mental health issues can have on a family. Our staff has the experience to help guide you through making the sometimes difficult decisions that have to be made when determining the best course of action for your child. We can also help empower you by informing you about the various resources available to you and your child and educating you about your rights and options available during this difficult time.

Please contact us through this Web site or by calling 847-564-8662 to discuss issues involving mental health.

The law firm of Whitted, Takiff + Hansen serves clients in Northbrook and throughout northern Illinois, in communities such as Chicago, Arlington Heights, Schaumburg, Waukegan, Woodstock, Belvidere, Geneva, Wheaton, Yorkville, Joliet, Skokie, Glenview, Highland Park, Buffalo Grove, and Evanston. Whitted Cleary & Takiff also has served clients from out of state, including Florida, Indiana, Missouri, Minnesota, North Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Cook County – Lake County – DuPage County – Will County – Kane County – McHenry County – Kendall County – Boone County – DeKalb County